For (East Sac) Mom: *FREE* Yoga Classes

by

A while ago we wrote about *FREE* Yoga Fridays at It’s All Yoga and last week I was actually able to attend! I say “actually” because I work in the financial industry and lets just say “bankers hours” aren’t exactly what they used to be– so to be able to take in a Friday afternoon yoga class was like being on a vacation.

I arrived at It’s All Yoga around 4:20PM and found parking near the antique shop on the corner. It took every ounce of will power I had to walk past the store (there are a TON of cool things in that shop) and find my way to It’s All Yoga’s door. I checked my shoes at the door and found a place near the back of the room to unroll my mat. For those who didn’t bring a mat they had plenty to lend out. There was a sectioned-off area for personal belongings and a bakers rack full of supplies– blankets, blocks, mats, etc.

By 4:30PM the class was full but not uncomfortable. If you’re new you’ll want to get there early to get a space and not be the last-minute attendee that other participants have to scoot their mats to make room for (or maybe I’m the only one who doesn’t want to be that person.)  The pace was slow and relaxing and many of the poses could be modified either more difficulty or more ease. The hour flew by and I was pleased that there wasn’t too much of a “spiritual” tone to the class… you know, the “be one with our Mother earth” kind of thing. I’m sure there are lots of people who are way into that aspect of yoga, but to be honest, it weirds me out a little.

All that to say, I left the class refreshed and relaxed and I would definitely go back. So why not try it for yourself? Maybe you’re in my predicament and a Friday afternoon class isn’t ideal for you. Here are a few other options to try out a *FREE* yoga class in East Sacramento:

 

Asha Yoga: one Saturday a month 1-3PM (read more here)

McKinley Park: Saturdays 9-10:15AM (behind the rose garden)

The Yoga Solution: Fridays 5:30-6:45PM

Fremont Presbyterian Church: Saturdays 9-10:15AM

We’ll see you there!

Any yoga experience feedback? Are you one with Mother Earth, looking to relax or just get in better shape? If you’ve been to any of the above-mentioned locations comment below and let us know what you thought.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “For (East Sac) Mom: *FREE* Yoga Classes”

  1. Tami Says:

    I’m so glad you were able to make it!

    Thank you for telling your readers about our Free Fridays. I will be teaching on March5th. I hope you can make it.

    As far as yoga experience goes… I’m a bit of an Earthy-ish mama trying to relax while getting in better shape. It’s all yoga, afterall.

Leave a Reply

